Dagnall will be Iron's No.9

Last updated : 09 July 2010 By Luke Thornhill

Scunthorpe have handed summer signing Chris Dagnall the coveted number nine shirt for next season.

It suggests Dagnall, top scorer for Rochdale as they won automatic promotion from League Two, will be used as a first-choice striker.

Bobby Grant, signed from Accrington Stanley, has been given shirt no.17, while fellow newcomers Michael Collins and Eddie Nolan take 18 and 21 respectively.

United have left the number three shirt open in the hope of adding a left-back to their squad before the start of the season.

Martyn Woolford has inherited the number seven shirt vacated by Matty Sparrow, while Rob Jones moves to number five.

Iron's squad numbers 09/10:
1 Joe Murphy
2 Andrew Wright
4 Sam Togwell
5 Rob Jones
6 Cliff Byrne
7 Martyn Woolford
8 Michael O'Connor
9 Chris Dagnall
10 Gary Hooper
11 Garry Thompson
12 Michael Raynes
13 Sam Slocombe
14 Jonathan Forte
15 David Mirfin
16 Josh Wright
17 Bobby Grant
18 Michael Collins
19 Adam Boyes
20 Kenny Milne
21 Eddie Nolan
22 Josh Lillis
23 Rory Coleman
24 Matt Godden
25 Niall Canavan
26 Johnathan Williams
27 Ian Morris